Board of Trustees


Louis D. EvansLouis D. Evans III, President
Position 4, Precinct 3 [Email]

Upon his appointment to the Board, his fellow Trustees elected him to serve as Vice President of the Board. Mr. Evans is the executive director of off-campus locations and online coordination at the University of Houston-Downtown. Mr. Evans previously served on the board from 2007 through 2012 and provided leadership as Vice President from 2010 to 2012. Learn More...

Eric Dick

Eric Dick, Vice President
Position 2, Precinct 4

Eric Dick is a homeowner’s insurance lawyer and owner of Dick Law Firm, PLLC. He has represented in excess of 1,000 individuals and business owners throughout the state of Texas. For two consecutive years, Texas Lawyer Magazine names Eric Dick as a Rising Star. National Academy of Justice lists him as a Premier Attorney. Learn More...

Diane Trautman

Diane Trautman, Ed.D.
Position 3, At-Large [Email]

Dr. Diane Trautman is a retired professor of education. In addition to her tenures in higher education at both Sam Houston State and Stephen F. Austin universities, she has also worked in the following educational capacities within the K-12 arena: Teacher in both Houston and Humble ISDs and Principal in Conroe and Tomball ISDs. Learn More...

Don Sumners

Don Sumners
Position 7, At-Large [Email]

Don Sumners serves as Harris County Department of Education Trustee Position 7, At-Large. The former Harris County Tax Assessor/Collector, Mr. Sumners serves on the Audit and Budget Board committees for HCDE and is the Board representative to the Head Start Policy Council. Learn More...

Erica Lee CarterErica Lee Carter
Position 6, Precinct 1 [Email]

Erica Lee Carter was elected in November 2012 to serve Precinct 1 on the Harris County Board of Education - Position 6. Trustee Lee Carter is a certified teacher and life-long advocate for educational access and equality. During her term, she will focus on ensuring a quality education for all children. Learn More...

Mike WolfeMike Wolfe
Position 5, At-Large [Email]

Michael Wolfe serves as Harris County Department of Education Trustee Position 5, At-Large. Mr. Wolfe serves as the alternate to the Board’s governmental relations committee for HCDE and is the alternate Board representative to the Head Start Policy Council.  Mr. Wolfe was first elected to the HCDE Board of Trustees in 2006. Learn More...

George MooreDr. George Moore
Position 1, Precinct 2

Dr. George P. Moore is currently the campus pastor for Champion Forest Baptist Church – Jersey Village. He earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Texas at Austin and a master’s degree in business administration in finance from University of St. Thomas in Houston.  Learn More...

General Information

The Board of Trustees acts to establish policies governing the operation of Harris County Department of Education. As a governmental body, it can take action only by majority vote at a legally called public meeting. Regular meetings of the HCDE Board are typically held on the third Tuesday of the month at 1:00 p.m. at 6300 Irvington Boulevard in Houston, Texas. Special meetings are called when necessary. All meetings are open to the public. The Board elects the County Superintendent as its chief executive officer to administer the organization.

Candidate Requirements

In accordance with the Texas Education Code, candidates for County Board of Trustees must:

  • Be a qualified voter in Harris County
  • Be a resident of Harris County for six months prior to the filing deadline; persons representing County Commissioner precincts must reside in the precinct
  • Be of good moral character
  • Be able to read and speak the English language
  • Be a person of good education and in sympathy with the public free schools
  • Not be connected with the public schools of any district, either as an official or as an employee.

Candidates must file according to political party affiliation and should contact party headquarters for filing date and instructions. A filing fee of $750 must accompany the application. Harris County Department of Education Board of Trustees consists of seven members, three elected at large and one from each of the four County Commissioner precincts. Members are elected to six year terms which are staggered. County Board of Trustees elections are held every two years in conjunction with the General Election. Board members serve with a $6.00 per meeting pay, if eligible.


The Texas Election Code prohibits corporations and labor unions from contributing directly or indirectly to a candidate's campaign. Questions about contributions should be directed to an attorney of the State Ethics Commission.