Tax Rate

TAX RATE

In 1935 the voters of Harris County, Texas approved a maximum tax rate of $0.01 (one cent) per $100 valuation of property for Harris County Department of Education. Property taxes are levied by October 1 in conformity with Subtitle E. Texas Property Tax Code, on the assessed value listed as of the prior January 1 for all real and business personal property located in Harris County, Texas. Taxes are due upon receipt of the tax bill in October. On January 1 of each year, a tax lien attaches to property to secure the payment of all taxes, penalties, and interest ultimately imposed. Taxes become delinquent if not paid before February 1. On July 1 additional penalties and interest are imposed on unpaid taxes. Property tax revenues are considered available when they become due or past due and receivable within the current period.

Appraised values are established by the Harris County Appraisal District (“HCAD”) of Harris County, Texas. Taxes are levied by the Department’s Board of Trustees based on the appraised values received from HCAD. Billing and collection of tax levies are performed by the Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector’s Office.

The Department’s property tax rates, established in accordance with state law, are levied for use in financing the Department’s general government (maintenance and operations - “M&O”) expenditures. The Department does not have a debt service rate. Allowances for uncollectible taxes are based on historical experience in collecting property taxes. Uncollectible personal property taxes receivable are written off after ten years and real property taxes receivable are written off after twenty years.  

 

$.005999

$.005422

$.005200

$.005195

$.00519

$.00500

For the 4th year in a row, the taxes are
BELOW the Effective Tax Rate

HCDE Tax Rate

Slider

HCDE saves taxpayers money with lowered tax rate  

Harris County Department of Education is committed to operating in a fiscally conservative manner. Looking out for taxpayers, HCDE’s Board of Trustees voted to save taxpayers money by lowering the tax rate for the fifth consecutive year in 2019. The continued lowering of the tax rate is possible due to a sound business model, strong internal controls and excellent business acumen by all division managers. 

HCDE’s adopted tax rate is 0.005000 per $100 assessed property value for tax year 2019. For the average home in Harris County, valued at $248,781 with a homestead exemption, this equates to $9.08 a year.

History of HCDE’s tax rate   

In 1935, Harris County voters approved a maximum tax rate of one cent per $100 valuation of property for HCDE’s maintenance and operations. Each September, HCDE’s Board of Trustees adopts a tax rate based on appraised home values established by the Harris County Appraisal District.

Tax Collection  

Billing and collection of taxes are performed by the Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector’s Office. For information about your tax bill, please visit www.hctax.net.   

Billing and collection of tax levies are performed by the Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector’s Office.

The Department’s property tax rates, established in accordance with state law, are levied for use in financing the Department’s general government (maintenance and operations - “M&O”) expenditures. The Department does not have a debt service rate. Allowances for uncollectible taxes are based on historical experience in collecting property taxes. Uncollectible personal property taxes receivable are written off after ten years and real property taxes receivable are written off after twenty years.  

Tax Rate Calculator


$ .00
(MUST APPLY FOR THIS EXEMPTION)


Estimated Property Tax Due Per Year to the
Harris County Department of Education:

$

Other exemptions available: Over 65 exemption and Disabled Exemption. These exemptions must be applied for and granted by the Harris County Appraisal District.


Based on 2019-2020 adopted tax rate of $0.005000

Tax Collection  

Billing and collection of taxes are performed by the Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector’s Office. For information about your tax bill, please visit www.hctax.net.  

Tax Exemptions Explained

The Homestead Exemption is calculated by reducing the market value by $5,000 or 20%, whichever is greater. For example a home with a market value of $150,000 with a qualifying homestead exemption has a taxable value of $120,000 (20% is $30,000 and is reduced from the market value).  The taxes due will be calculated using the $120,000.

The Over 65 Exemption is calculated by reducing the market value by $160,000.  For example a home with a market value of $180,000 has a Over 65 Exemption so the taxable value is $20,000. ($180,000 less $160,000).  The taxes due will be calculated using the $20,000.

The Disabled Exemption is calculated by reducing the market value by $160,000.  For example a home with a market value of $180,000 has a Disabled Exemption so the taxable value is $20,000. ($180,000 less $160,000).  The taxes due will be calculated using the $20,000. 

The Survivor Exemption is calculated by reducing the market value by $160,000.  For example a home with a market value of $180,000 has a Survivor Exemption so the taxable value is $20,000. ($180,000 less $160,000).  The taxes due will be calculated using the $20,000.

Disclaimer: The estimates above are based on information that you have provided and are calculated using a hypothetical example. HCDE does not warrant or certify the accuracy of any values or tax amounts on this page.  This shows only the amount due to HCDE.  For tax value information, go to: www.HCAD.org. For information on tax payments, go to: www.hctax.net

Other exemptions available: Over 65 exemption and Disabled Exemption. These exemptions must be applied for and granted by the Harris County Appraisal District.